For the latest information regarding technology support for the Coronavirus situation, please visit UCI TechPrep.

Securely Share Files in OneDrive

With Microsoft OneDrive, you can securely share files with colleagues. However, it is important to understand the different Data Classification levels and acceptable ways to share P3 and P4 files.

Guidance for Data Classification Levels - P1 - P4 Data

Please read the UC Information Protection Standards to become familiar with the data classification levels:

Link Type P4 P3 P2 P1
Specific People
Internal User
Acceptable Acceptable Acceptable Acceptable
Specific People
External User
Acceptable – Use good judgment Acceptable – Use good judgment Acceptable Acceptable
People in UC Irvine
(Internal Link)
Never use this link type with P4 Acceptable – consider using Specific People if possible, for P3 Acceptable Acceptable
Anyone with the link
(Open Link)
Never use this link type with P4 Never use this link type with P3 Acceptable – Use expiration date when possible Acceptable – Use expiration date when possible

Examples of different link types

Review sharing links for a file or folder and revoke unneeded links

It is important to remove sharing links that are no longer needed. To review the sharing links for a file or folder, click on the details pane icon in the top right:

Open details pane

In the details pane, click on Manage access

Manage Access

This will display all the sharing links. In this example, there is an Anyone link with view access, an Internal link with edit access, a Specific link with edit access, and a Specific link with view access.

In addition to “Links giving access”, there is also a set of permissions called “Direct access”.  Users are advised not to use these permissions to share files.  Use only sharing links, not Direct access permissions.

Manage access

To revoke a sharing link, click on the ellipsis next to the link and click the X to remove the link:

Remove Links

You will be prompted to confirm, and the link will be removed:

Confirmation

For Specific People links, you can remove individual users while still preserving the link for others to use:

Remove individual users

Scroll Up