Student UCInetID Retention Policy

Summary: Student UCInetIDs are available to currently enrolled students only. Read the information below to find out about the retention policy and how it affects you.

Your UCInetID gives you access to computing & web services while you are currently enrolled. If you are not enrolled and have not registered and paid your fees by the Fee Payment Deadline for the following quarter, your UCInetID will lose access to most services.

If you will not be enrolled for one or more quarters as a student, then you must take steps to save any email or files in your email account before it is deleted. Files or email from deleted mailboxes will not be restored if you return.

Returning Students

If you return as a student after 1 year you will be reassigned the same UCInetID and be issued a new, empty mailbox.

Alumni

UCI graduates may now keep their UCInetIDs to gain access to some UCI services including UCI's wireless network on campus and the Registrar's StudentAccess to view grades and unofficial transcripts.

If you have a UCI Gmail account upon graduation, you will keep the mailbox in perpetuity so long as you renew your UCI Gmail account on time. Visit our Alumni Help Center topic for more info. If you have an ES Mailbox (aka Webmail account), it will only be available for one year after you graduate; however, you may also sign up for a free Alumni email address that will forward email to a private account off campus indefinitely. Visit the Alumni Help Center topic above to learn how to set this up.


UCInetID Policy Details

Details of our OIT policy for UCInetID retention can be found below:

  1. UCInetIDs can access certain web services based on information we receive from the UCI Registrar. Two points of information are used in the process:
    1. You are registered for the previous quarter (with a valid UCInetID); and,
    2. You paid your fees in the current quarter before or on the Registrar's fee deadline.
  2. Based on these two pieces of information, if you don't register and take courses in a given quarter you can continue to use your UCInetID (and the services tied to it) UNTIL the fee deadline for the present quarter. This is usually a few days before the beginning of instruction. AFTER the fee deadline, your will be converted to a 'former student' and will lose access to most web services.
  3. If you intend to return the next quarter, you must pay your fees before the next quarter fee deadline. This will keep your UCInetID active.
  4. Former students lose access to email because the mailbox is archived. After a period of time, if you do not re-enroll, then the mailbox is permanently deleted and will be irretrievable. You will regain access to most UCI web services if one of the following conditions occur:
    • Reenter as a student
    • Become a new employee
    • Take Concurrent Enrollment classes
    • Take summer session classes.
Scroll Up