Online Directory Update System (OLDUS) Help

Summary: There are three columns of employee data in OLDUS.  Employees and Students have separate tabs.  Please review both tabs periodically in order to keep directory information current. If you don’t see an employee or student employee, that person is not assigned to this home department code.  That department’s directory coordinator will need to make the listing updates or, if appropriate, you will need to request access to that home department code.  If you have questions, or to add access, please send email to OIT Directory Coordinator, and include OLDUS in the subject line.

To Make Changes

Click on the name of the person whose entry you wish to change and you will be presented with another page where you can make changes to fields where updates are allowed.

Authorized fields are:

  • primary working title
  • primary office room number
  • primary building
  • phone
  • ZotCode
  • FAX number
  • secondary department name
  • secondary working title
  • secondary office room number
  • secondary building

Zot Code

To change a zot code, click on the incorrect zot code and a second window will open, allowing you to change the zot code directly with UCI Mail Services. The new zot code will show in OLDUS the following day.  If you need to remove a zot code, click the REMOVE button.

You cannot change the following fields in OLDUS:

  • name (a name will be updated automatically after an official name change is completed through the Payroll/Personnel System)
  • email address (contact postmaster@uci.edu)
  • department (the employee must be officially transferred to the new department through the Payroll/Personnel System)

Click the SUBMIT CHANGE REQUEST button. You will get a confirmation that your update was successful and you will see the updated listing. The changes will not be reflected on your main department screen until the following day. Always click RELOAD or REFRESH to get the most current information.

To Delete Information

You cannot delete a person from the database.  You can remove data from available fields to limit the amount of information about that employee during the separation/deletion process.

A telephone number should remain – replace the former employee’s phone number with a general department phone number if you wish.

Separated employees will be purged from the system after they have been officially separated in the Personnel/Payroll System for at least four months. It may take even longer for the former employee to be removed from your department’s update screen.

Click the SUBMIT CHANGE REQUEST button. You will get a confirmation that your update was successful and you will see the updated listing. The changes will not be reflected on your main department screen until the following day. Always click RELOAD or REFRESH to get the most current information.

To Add Employees

New employees will be available on the On-Line Directory Update System one day after they have been processed in the Personnel/Payroll System. There is no way to add an employee who has not been processed through Personnel/Payroll.

 

Scroll Up